Exhibition News – Lancashire Open Exhibition 2017

Delighted to announce that I have had two pieces selected for the Lancashire Open Exhibition 2017.

Having had a Shipwreck piece selected for the 2016 show, I return to Chapel Gallery (Ormskirk) this year with two very different pieces.

Gateway1

The first piece, ‘Gateway 1’, dates from 2013 and was among the first work I made after moving to Manchester. At the time I made this I was living on a friend’s floor in a strange, new and (at times) unfriendly city. I was just starting down a long and horrendous JSA learning curve and looking for work and a place of my own. I found comfort in drawing and began to draw tall wrought Iron gateways. They were always locked in determination to keep me out but nearly always broken and inviting me in.

Gateway 1 had a previous outing in London, exhibited at ’13 The Gallery’ in Islington, London in 2014 as part of their Art-fordable programme.

Untitled 4

My second piece, ‘Untitled 4’ is part of my current expanding foam-based work. It is brand new and was only finished a matter of days before being taken to the gallery. Expanding foam flesh sits inside a small aperture, from which the viewer is presented with the beautiful and the grotesque as contorted and wiry hair is bejewelled with colourful varnish crystals.

The piece itself is tiny, being only around 10cm tall. I cant wait to see this in situ!

untitlrf 4

The Lancashire Open Exhibition runs 22nd July – 6th September 2017 with a preview night on the 21st July.

Chapel Gallery, St Helens Road, Ormskirk, Lancashire L39 4QR
01695 571 328

Leave a Reply

